$50 Shopping Haul

So this post is a little different than all the others. I am going to be talking about grocery shopping and how to do it on a budget.

As a college student it can be hard to  buy a lot of good food. Trying not to stereotype but, a lot of us tend to go for the cheaper and more unhealthy foods. With a house full of 4 people it’s even more of a challenge.

And I decided to take the challenge up.

I am spending $50 at the store to buy enough groceries to last at least a week.

So here we go!

 


 

Shopping List: 

  • 2 dozen large eggs – my one roommate and I eat a lot of them
  • Lettuce mix
  • Cheese slices
  • Aged cheddar
  • Berries
  • Turkey deli meat
  • Ham deli meat
  • Steak
  • Frozen juice
  • Potatoes
  • Frozen veggies

That all seems pretty manageable with a $50 budget. Or so I thought. And I was wrong. In the end I ended up spending over $50. Let me break it down for you.

Actual Items Bought:

  • 2 dozen large eggs @ $1.97/dozen
  • Lettuce Mix @ 2/$9
  • Monetary Jack cheese slices @ $3.99
  • Aged Cheddar @ $6.99
  • Rasberries @ 2/$5
  • Turkey Deli Meat @ $4.60
  • Ham Deli Meat @ $4.72
  • Steak @ $9.95
  • Frozen Juice 5/$4
  • Potatoes @ 10lb/$4.50
  • Frozen Veggies @ $2.99
  • Kettle Chips @ $3.80
  • Sun-dried Tomato Dressing @ $2.50
  • Sorbet @ $2.99

So as you can see by the items I actually bought, I ended up buying more items then originally planed.

At the store I went to you can collect point towards groceries and in this trip I earned 2000 points and I had a coupon for $1 off on the cheese.

Now, some tips on making grocery shopping easier.

  • Go to the store with a list that way you don’t end up wandering around and buy stuff that you don’t need.
  • If there is something on your list that is on sale, buy the item on sale
  • Don’t buy name brand – name brand food items tend to more expensive so save your money and buy no name.
  • Use coupons and collect points with any in store offers.

Happy shopping!

-H

Leave a Reply

