Harley’s Magical Chicken Soup

So I guess this is the week where everyone in my house decided that it would be a good time to get sick. And by sick I mean really sick, at least some of us. Rachel has the full on flu with a fever, I have a sore throat/runny nose/headaches and overheat and Aimèe has had a sore throat. The only person not sick is Nav.

So here I am sharing my little tip on how to get better…..chicken soup. And not just any chicken soup, my magical chicken soup. I swear by this guys. The last time I was sick in the fall I made a huge 6 quart crock pot full of this and because no one else was sick no one else had any so in the time span of 3 days I ate 6 quarts of this stuff and was better.

So without further ado, here is my magical chicken soup recipe!


 

Ingredients: 

  • 2 boxes of Campbell’s Chicken Broth
  • 3 Cups of water
  • 1 Cup of carrots
  • 1 Cup of celery
  • 1 Cup of spinach
  • 3 – 4 small potatoes
  • 2 – 3 handfuls of your choice of pasta
  • Rotisserie chicken
  • Cilantro to taste
  • Garlic to taste
  • Onion powder to taste
  • Salt and Pepper

 

Steps:

  1. So first you will have to find a big pot. Once you have a pot cut up all of the veggies and dump them into the pot. You can chose to peel your potatoes or not. I didn’t but make sure you wash them well.
  2. Take your rotisserie chicken (you can use chicken that you cook and season yourself but this chicken is best), and tear pieces off so its kind of shredded. Add this to the pot. I used almost the whole chicken but you can use as much as you like.
  3. Chop or tear up some cilantro. Some people find that it tastes like soap but I happen to think that with just a little and can add a little something to a dish. I took about 3 – 4 stems of it and tore it up and added it to the pot.
  4. Add a dash or salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder to taste. I recommend freshly ground black pepper. For the onion powder you could easily replace it with an onion but I didn’t have any.
  5. Pour in the 2 boxes of chicken broth. You can use low sodium but I didn’t because the salt feels nice on the throat.
  6. Once you have added the broth add 3 cups of water and mix everything together.
  7. Turn the pot onto medium heat and cook for about 30 minutes.
  8. Add the pasta and cook for another 20 minutes.

Serve the soup in bowls with soda crackers, bread or croissants. This soup is good as left overs so you put it into the fridge or freeze some for a later date.

Soup is pretty easy to make. I tend to not season my soup too much that way I can cater to different tastes and everyone can add their own spices to it if they like spicy things or even saltier things.

After having this soup last night my throat was soothed and I was ready for bed.

 


 

Because most of us are sick I am going to give you guys some tips on how to get better and not get everyone else sick.

  1. Wash your hands… a lot!
  2. Cover your sneezes and coughs!
  3. Stay in your room!
  4. Wash only your dishes, even more so if you don’t have a dishwasher
  5. Drink lots of liquids (water, tea, gingerale)
  6. Avoid dairy
  7. Ginger and lemon are calming on the stomach
  8. Eat lots of soup
  9. As soon as you start to feel symptoms, take vitamin c and zinc
  10. Get lots of sleep

 

Well, thats about all for today!

Stay healthy,

-H

Leave a Reply

